The yearly literary prize, Nigeria Prize for Literature is here again. 

It is endowed by Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited to honour the author of the best book by a Nigerian within the last four years. The prize rotates among four literary genres – prose fiction, poetry, drama and childrens literature. This year, the competition is for Children’s Literature. The competition is open only to Nigerian writers irrespective of place of residence. 

It carries a reward of $100,000.


Ten copies of the entry and, if available, an e-copy, with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National identily card), may be submitted either by authors or publishers, in accordance with the genres in competition.

Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limiteds External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline. Failure to meet the stated conditions will lead to disqualification of the entry.

No book published before January, 2015 will be accepted. Complete contact information, including full contact address, email(s), phone number(s) and other relevant contact Information should accompany each submission.

An author will enter only one published work, Mere manuscripts will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at later date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published. The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.

No members of the Advisory Board or Panel of judges can enter their work(s) for the award in the period in which they are serving and two years therafter. No entries will be entertained from members of NLNG Staff and their families


A panel of judges has been appointed for The Nigeria Prize for Literature by the Advisory Board .for Literature.

The appointment of judges has been done to reflect the genre in competition for the year. Persons appointed as judges have wide experience, peer recognition, good public image, and command respect nationally and internationally.

The outcome of the process as approved by the Advisory Board shall be final.

The panel of Judges include:

Professor Obododinma Oha – Chairman

Professor Asabe Usman Kabir – Member

DR Patric Oloko – Member

An International Consultant will be appointed.

Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo – Chairman

Professor Jerry Agada – Member

Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe – Member
Announcement and Public Presentation of Winners

The Winners will normally be announced and presented to the public in October.

Application Closing Date

5th April, 2019.

Interested and qualified candidates should send their entries to:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature,

External Relations Division,

Intels Aba Road Estate,

Km 16 Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway,

P.M.B 5660, Port Harcourt,

Rivers State.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature,

External Relations Division,

Nigerian LNG Limited

4th Floor, Heron House,

10 Dean Farrar Street,

London, SW1 H ODX.


For further information, visit Nigeria LNG Limited’s website:


You really don’t want to miss out on this one. Get on board!